The Huntington News

Crime Log: Monday, February 11 to Sunday, February 17

Back to Article
Back to Article

Crime Log: Monday, February 11 to Sunday, February 17

Sully Barrett, news staff

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






Monday, Feb. 11

12:47 p.m.

A residence director reported receiving an email from an NU student regarding covered smoke detectors in the common area of his room in West Village A. Officers responded and confirmed the smoke detectors were covered. A report was filed.

Tuesday, Feb. 12

12:08 a.m.

A proctor reported a man sleeping in the basement of International Village. Officers responded and identified the man as unaffiliated with NU with active warrants for shoplifting, disturbing the peace and assault and battery with a dangerous weapon. Officers placed the man under arrest and transported him for booking. A report was filed.

12:09 p.m.

An NU student reported her laptop was stolen from her backpack on the third floor of Snell Library. A report was filed.

12:38 p.m.

The manager of Wollaston’s Market in Marino Recreation Center reported a shoplifter. Officers responded and reported speaking to an NU student. The student was banned from both Wollaston’s locations. A report was filed.

2:47 p.m.

An NU student reported being robbed by about seven men in the Museum of Fine Arts. The student reported one of the men threatened to harm him with a firearm and motioned toward his waistband but did not produce a firearm. The men took the student’s sneakers. A report was filed.

Thursday, Feb. 14

10:52 a.m.

The manager of Wollaston’s Market in the Marino Recreation Center reported stopping a shoplifter identified as an NU student. Officers responded and reported the student attempted to steal a protein bar. The student was banned from the Wollaston’s location. A report was filed.

Friday, Feb. 15

9:53 a.m.

A Boston Police Department detective reported the larceny of a Christmas tree from the lobby of 141 Tremont St. occurring on Nov. 30, 2018. Two of the three suspects were identified as NU students. A report was filed.

11:38 a.m.

An employee of ABM Industries, a facility management company, reported finding an unmoving man lying under a mattress while cleaning a room in Melvin Hall. Officers responded and reported the man unaffiliated with NU was conscious and alert. The officers confiscated two bicycles and a bass instrument from an adjoining room that the man could not prove ownership for. The man was banned from NU property. A report was filed.

2:39 p.m.

An individual reported a man making concerning statements about guns and shootings while speaking with him in the Curry Student Center. Officers responded and reported stopping the individual who they identified as unaffiliated with NU with an active trespass order. The officers arrested the man and transported him for booking. A report was filed.

Saturday, Feb. 16

2:49 a.m.

An NU student reported his intoxicated friend hit his head after falling off the toilet two hours prior. Officers responded and reported transporting the injured student to Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, or BIDMC. A report was filed.

2:21 p.m.

The NU bookstore manager reported a known shoplifter in the area. A passerby reported seeing him throw a backpack into the stairwell of Symphony station. Officers responded and reported stopping the man, unaffiliated with NU, riding a bicycle on Massachusetts Avenue, where they arrested him for shoplifting and trespassing. Officers reported recovering $234 of bookstore merchandise. A report was filed.

3:02 p.m.

An RA reported finding at least three broken exit signs and an emergency door propped open in Stetson West. A report was filed.

Sunday, Feb. 17

2:00 a.m.

An officer reported a highly intoxicated NU student on the corner of St. Stephens Street and Westland Avenue. Officers reported identifying the student as 21 years old, but that he could not remember where he lived and did not have any belongings on him. The student was transported to BIDMC for medical evaluation. A report was filed.

Navigate Left
  • Crime Log: Monday, February 11 to Sunday, February 17

    Crime Logs

    Crime Log: Monday, May 12 to Sunday, May 19

  • Crime Log: Monday, February 11 to Sunday, February 17

    Crime Logs

    Crime Log: Monday, May 6 to Sunday, May 11

  • Crime Log: Monday, February 11 to Sunday, February 17

    Crime Logs

    Crime Log: Monday, April 29 to Sunday, May 5

  • Crime Log: Monday, February 11 to Sunday, February 17

    Crime Logs

    Crime Log: Monday, April 22 to Sunday, April 28

  • Crime Log: Monday, February 11 to Sunday, February 17

    Crime Logs

    Crime Log: Monday, April 15 to Sunday, April 21

  • Crime Log: Monday, February 11 to Sunday, February 17

    Crime Logs

    Crime Log: Monday, April 8 to Sunday, April 14

  • Crime Log: Monday, February 11 to Sunday, February 17

    Crime Logs

    Crime Log: Monday, April 1 to Sunday, April 7

  • Crime Log: Monday, February 11 to Sunday, February 17

    Crime Logs

    Crime Log: Monday, March 25 to Sunday, March 31

  • Crime Log: Monday, February 11 to Sunday, February 17

    Crime Logs

    Crime Log: Monday, March 18 to Sunday, March 24

  • Crime Log: Monday, February 11 to Sunday, February 17

    Crime Logs

    Crime Log: Monday, March 11 to Sunday, March 17

Navigate Right