Oscar Round-Up

by Ashley Dean, News Staff

The 2010 Academy Awards show was hardly full of surprises, but it certainly had comedy and drama. Hosts Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin provided the comedy, playing off each other brilliantly, while the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences stirred up the drama by leaving Farrah Fawcett out of the memorial tribute portion of the show. Arguably the most notable moment of the evening was Kathryn Bigelow’s win for Best Director, making her the first woman to earn a Best Director Oscar. Besides that, it was a rather predictable show. Here’s the unsurprising list of winners:

Best Picture:
“The Hurt Locker”
Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Nicolas Chartier and Greg Shapiro

Actor in a Leading Role:
Jeff Bridges
“Crazy Heart”

Actor in a Supporting Role:
Christopher Waltz
“Inglourious Basterds”

Actress in a Leading Role:
Sandra Bullock
“The Blind Side”

Animated Feature Film:

Pete Docter

Art Direction:
Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg (Art Direction); Kim Sinclair (Set Decoration)

Mauro Fiore

Costume Design:
“The Young Victoria”
Sandy Powell

“The Hurt Locker”
Kathryn Bigelow

Documentary Feature:
“The Cove”
Louie Psihoyos and Fisher Stevens

Documentary Short:
“Music by Prudence”
Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett

Film Editing:
“The Hurt Locker”
Bob Murawski and Chris Innis

Foreign Language Film:
“The Secret in Their Eyes” (“El Secreto de Sus Ojos”)
Directed by Juan Jose Campanella

“Star Trek”
Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow

Music (Original Score):
Michael Giacchino

Music (Original Song):
“Crazy Heart”
“The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart)”
Music and Lyrics by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett

Short Film (Animated):
Nicolas Schmerkin

Short Film (Live Action):
“The New Tenants”
Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson

Sound Editing:
“The Hurt Locker”
Paul N.J. Ottosson

Sound Mixing:
“The Hurt Locker”
Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett

Visual Effects:
Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones

Writing (Adapted Screenplay):
“Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”
Screenplay by Geoffrey Fletcher

Writing (Original Screenplay):
“The Hurt Locker”
Written by Mark Boal

More to Discover