The Huntington News

Event Calendar: Thursday, March 14 – Wednesday, March 20

Ali Dusinberre, deputy lifestyle editor

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






Thursday, March 14, HerStory Month 2019: Women’s Comedy Night

Emerson College is hosting a variety of women-centered events throughout March in honor of Women’s History Month, or “HerStory Month.” Thursday’s event will be a stand-up comedy show highlighting female comedic talent. Check out the Facebook page to see the other HerStory events happening throughout the month. 8 p.m.-10 p.m.; Emerson College; Free.

Friday, March 15, MFA Late Nites

This after-hours celebration at the Museum of Fine Arts will preview the “Gender Bending Fashion” exhibition before it opens to the public on March 21. The exhibition examines a century of nonconforming fashion that tested the relationship between gender and dress. Friday’s event will include DJ sets and live performances, DIY makeup and accessory stations, clothing vendors, interactive presentations by designers and more.  8 p.m.-2 a.m.; Museum of Fine Arts; $20.

Saturday, March 16, preview party for the 35th annual Wicked Queer Film Festival

The Boston LGBT Film Festival will host a party showing trailers and previewing the schedule for the upcoming festival, which will take place March 28 through April 7. Post 390 will provide brunch. All proceeds will go toward supporting the festival and LGBTQ+ filmmakers. 12 p.m.-3 p.m.; Post 390; $8 in advance and $12 at the door.

Sunday, March 17, South Boston St. Patrick’s Day Parade

Grab something green and head to South Boston on Sunday to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day. Amazon will sponsor this year’s parade, known to attract up to a million spectators annually. Visit the website to view the full parade route and other details. 1 p.m.; Broadway MBTA station; Free.

Monday, March 18, Yoga & Sound

GoSpacing yoga studio will host a yoga class and live music at More Than Words bookstore, a nonprofit social enterprise dedicated to empowering disenfranchised young adults through leadership in business. A portion of the proceeds will go toward supporting this mission, and attendees will receive an in-store coupon for 20 percent off. 6 p.m.-7:30 p.m.; More Than Words; $25.

Tuesday, March 19, Women in Leadership: Massachusetts Trailblazers

A panel of political leaders will discuss their path into public office and share their insights on increasing and diversifying female political representation in the Commonwealth. The panel will include the council presidents of Boston and Chelsea, two state representatives and the mayor of Salem. Advance registration through Eventbrite is required. 6 p.m.-8:30 p.m.; Edward M. Kennedy Institute for the United States Senate; Free.

Wednesday, March 20, The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged)

The long-running London comedy will come to the Ryder Theatre Lab on Wednesday through Sunday, March 24. Watch a four-person cast perform this irreverent take on all of Shakespeare’s work in just 90 minutes. The show will include improvisation, audience participation and Hamlet in 43 seconds. 7:30 p.m.; Ryder Theatre Lab; Free.

Graphics courtesy Creative Commons

Navigate Left
  • Event Calendar: Thursday, March 14 – Wednesday, March 20

    event calendar

    Event Calendar: Thursday, Feb. 28 – Wednesday, March 6

  • Event Calendar: Thursday, March 14 – Wednesday, March 20

    event calendar

    Event Calendar: Thursday, Feb. 21 – Wednesday, Feb. 27

  • Event Calendar: Thursday, March 14 – Wednesday, March 20

    event calendar

    Event Calendar: Thursday, Feb. 14 – Wednesday, Feb. 20

  • Event Calendar: Thursday, March 14 – Wednesday, March 20

    event calendar

    Event Calendar: Thursday, Feb. 7 – Wednesday, Feb. 13

  • Event Calendar: Thursday, March 14 – Wednesday, March 20

    event calendar

    Event Calendar: Thursday, Jan. 31 – Wednesday, Feb. 6

  • Event Calendar: Thursday, March 14 – Wednesday, March 20

    event calendar

    Event Calendar: Thursday, Jan. 24 – Wednesday, Jan. 30

  • Event Calendar: Thursday, March 14 – Wednesday, March 20

    event calendar

    Event Calendar: Thursday, Jan. 17 – Wednesday, Jan. 23

  • Event Calendar: Thursday, March 14 – Wednesday, March 20

    event calendar

    Event Calendar: Thursday, Dec. 6 – Wednesday, Dec. 12

  • Event Calendar: Thursday, March 14 – Wednesday, March 20

    event calendar

    Event Calendar: Thursday, Nov. 29 – Wednesday, Dec. 5

  • Event Calendar: Thursday, March 14 – Wednesday, March 20

    event calendar

    Event Calendar: Thursday, Nov. 15 – Wednesday, Nov. 21

Navigate Right